The SLAV John Ward Award

The recipient of the John Ward Award will be required to demonstrate an outstanding contribution to learning and teaching at their school and a raising of the profile of their profession through their role as teacher-librarian. A professional development grant of $2000 is awarded.

John Ward was a founding member of SLAV, a founding member of the Australian School Library Association, and a founding member of the International Association of School Librarianship. He held the positions of Secretary and President of SLAV for many years and was the Secretary of ASLA during the 1970s, a period of rapid library expansion.

To be considered for the Award download and complete the following  john-ward-award-form-2017

The SLAV Research Fellowship 

Supporting action research and evidence-based practice, the SLAV Research Fellowship will take the form of a $1000 grant to provide practical support to a teacher-librarian to implement a local research project.

To be considered for the Award download and complete the following research-award-form-2017

The SLAV School Leaders Award

The SLAV School Leaders Award is made to a school leader who demonstrates outstanding support of the school library and the work of the school library team. School personnel who are members of the school leadership team are eligible to be nominated by a teacher-librarian or the school library team.  The award winners are announced at the SLAV Conference in November each year.

Research has indicated that principal or school leader support of the library program is critical in encouraging teacher/teacher-librarian collaboration and in making the library program an integral part of the learning and teaching of the school. (Colorado Study, 1999)

To be considered for the Award download and complete the following school-leaders-award-form-2017

SLAV Innovators Award 

The SLAV Innovators Award supports the development and/or recognition of new and innovative practice in school libraries. Teams are encouraged to nominate themselves and SLAV branches are also called upon to nominate teams. The award consists of SLAV Personal Membership for 2018 and attendance at the SLAV Premier Conference in 2018.

To be considered for the Award, download and complete the following innovators-award-2017

The Penny Geoghegan Award – New Award

The School Library Association of Victoria is proud to announce the establishment of the Penny Geoghegan Award, named in honour of our colleague and long-time member who passed away prematurely in 2016. Penny embodied the ideals of the association as articulated in its Mission Statement, particularly that of ‘Collegiality – connecting members through a statewide network and community’. Her contribution to the association as Vice-President and Branch Representative over many years as well as her concern for her friends and colleagues within the association was a model for us all.

This award therefore will recognise an active member of the association who has contributed significantly to the governance, collegiality, network and learning community of the association. The SLAV Committee of Management will take responsibility for deciding upon the recipient of the award on an annual basis. A framed certificate and citation will be awarded at the November conference.

Award Recipients

The John Ward Award

2016: Miffy Farquharson, Mentone Grammar School
2015: Fay Pattison, Sacred Heart Girls’ College
2014: Leonie Dyason, Mooroopna Secondary College
2013: Suzette Boyd, Scotch College
2012: Rhonda Powling, Whitefriars College
2011: Joy Whiteside, Overnewton Anglican Community College
2010: Susan La Marca, Genazzano FCJ College
2009: Jenny Luca, Toorak College
2008: Jane Viner, Methodist Ladies College
2007: Judith Way, Mill Park Secondary College
2006: Jennifer Hall, Bendigo Senior Secondary College
2005: Bronwen Parsons, Belmont High School
2004: Camilla Elliot, (profiled in FYI 7 (4), 2003)
2003: Marianne Punshon (profiled in FYI 8 (1), 2004)
2002: Lesley Burgess & Shirley Melissas, (both profiled in FYI 7(1), 2003)
2001: Di Ruffles, (profiled in FYI 6 (1), 2002)
2000: Trish Cotter, (profiled in FYI 5 (1),2001) & Rosalind Kentwell (profiled in FYI 5 (2), 2001)
1999: Denise Boyko & Sandy Davey , (both profiled in FYI 4 (1), 2000)
1998: Di Wilson (profiled in FYI 3 (1), 1999) & Grace Kinch (profiled in FYI 3(2), 2001)

The SLAV Innovators Award

2016: Anne Whisken, Carey Grammar School
2014: Julie Purcell, Ruyton Girls’ School, and David Feighan, Mentone Girls Grammar
2012: Miffy Farquharson and the Library Team – Mentone Grammar School
2011: Sally Sutherland
2010: Tania Sheko
2009 Judith Way
2008: Laraine Stephens, Juliet Hayday, Adrienne Dore & Rosemary Bellairs
2007: Faye Matters
2006: Helen Zizys, Anna Ferguson & Lorraine Hudson
2005: Karen Russo
2004: Linda Twitchett

The SLAV School Leaders Award

2016: Ms Fran Reddan, Mentone Girls’ Grammar School
2015:  Ms Rita Grima and Mr Ray Pisani, Co-Principals, Marian College
2014: Mr Marco DiCesare, Caroline Chisholm College
2013: Mal Cater, Mentone Grammar
2012: Patricia Cowling, Genazzano FCJ College
2011: Julie Ryan, Our Lady of Mercy College
2010: Joint winners: Martin Culkin, Principal, Dandenong High School and Joseph Gerassi, Principal, Bialik College
2009: Angela Pollard, McClelland College, Frankston
2008: Cheryl Judd & Janine Laurence, Preston Girls’ Secondary College
2007: Jennifer Davies, Drouin Secondary College
2006: Tony O’Byrne, Aquinas College, Ringwood

The SLAV Research Fellowship 

2016: Julia Petricevic, Genazzano FCJ College, Kew
2014: Amanda Baker, Viewbank Secondary College
2013: Margaret Sinnott, Emmanuel College Warrnambool
2012: Anne Whisken & Brad Webb, Carey Baptist Grammar
2011: Pam Nieumann
2010: Camilla Elliott, Mazenod College
2009: Wilma Kurvink, Marie Turnbull, Margaret Pajak, Bart Rutherford, Cameron McIntosh & Meg Moores, Wesley College
2008: Cairistiona Tait & Jenny Mansfield, John Paul College
2007: Jacqueline Griffeth & Lee King, Mount Waverley Primary School
2006: Jan Schmidt-Loeliger, Horsham West Primary School
2005: Christine Wilson, Braemar College
2004: Jennifer Hall, Bendigo Senior Secondary College

Drop a file here or click to upload Choose File
Maximum upload size: 33.55MB